A Massive Gluten Free Baking Update!

So it’s been awhile since I’ve updated–I’ve got my foodservice management rotation to blame for that one…long days and long drives to get there and back plus mental and emotional draining= Amy does not bake or cook as much as she’d like to.

BUT I have done a bit of gluten free baking lately! Dave came home for his Spring Break 2 weeks ago and then my parents flew him home for Easter which means that I got to play with gluten free baking!

The first time he came home Miles and I decided to make a GF Meyer Lemon Meringue Pie using a Deerfield’s Bakery gf crust. The lemon curd tasted great, but there was not enough cornstarch in it to save this guy…we can just call it some crust with a pool of lemon curd and some pathetic meringue on top. AND the kicker was that the recipe was from Alton Brown?!?!? AB, you’ve let me down… I did not take any pictures of this trainwreck.

The next day was Pie Day and I was determined to not only have a pie for my family, but a gluten free one as well. So I settled for my original plan–a Banana Cream Pie. I followed this recipe http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2006/11/who-needs-gluten-when-there-is-pumpkin.html for the pie crust but omitted the cinnamon. And based the filling off of this recipe http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2008/12/banana-cream-pie-gluten-free-and-dairy.html, but did a few things differently. Dave is not a fan of coconut milk so I used heavy cream and whole milk in place of it. Used vanilla extract instead of the coconut extract. Also put very thinly sliced ripe bananas in the custard part. I did the bananas fosters part, but probably used more bananas and adjusted the brown sugar and rum accordingly. Oh and I piped freshly whipped cream all over the top to make it pretty (because I was dying to use my new piping bag and tip!).

So for Easter, I wanted to make sure that David had plenty of options to chose from. So I made him some gf rolls that he loves (http://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/sandwich-bread/) just turning the loaf of bread into rolls that I baked for 20ish minutes after lightly wiping them with some milk (COMPLETELY out of eggs–went through 3 dozen this weekend between my mom and myself!) and sprinkling some kosher salt on top (couldn’t find sesame seeds). These are really good rolls; Dave loves them, but I’m not completely satisfied. Stay tuned (give me at least another month though) to see how I modify them–I’m so excited to start modifying gf recipes! Sadly no picture of the rolls as they disappeared to Ames, Iowa with said brother this morning!

Next on the agenda was a Flourless Chocolate Cake from Gluten Free Mommy (http://glutenfreemommy.com/lighter-than-air-chocolate-cake/). Followed it almost to a tee. Didn’t have 4 cake pans lying around my house so I thought that I would just bake it in 2 pans and then cut each cake in half. I should have known better after how many baking classes??? The cake did not want to cut at all and it ended up being a big mess, but at the time I was cutting them, I really did not care anymore :). I also kind of improvised on the chocolate whipped cream. And David contributed to the chocolate chip design on top, which looks fabulous and very appropriate for the occasion ;).

The best thing that I baked all weekend was Gluten Free Girl’s Cinnamon Rolls (http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2009/12/gluten-free-cinnamon-rolls.html). Before Dave was diagnosed with Celiacs, he and I would always search for the best cinnamon rolls in restaurants and finally gave up and started making our own. Since the change in his eating habits, we haven’t really been able to find anything worth his time until I stumbled across Gluten Free Girl’s recipe. WOW! These are absolutely delicious. Not only did David love them, but my whole family loved them. My grandparents also thought they contained All-Purpose Flour and could not believe they were gluten free.

I didn’t follow her recipe to a tee either (I know, nasty little habit of mine…never satisfied following, always have to make my own print on something). I am a cinnamon roll filling purist and therefore just spread softened butter on the rolled out dough and covered it with an unmeasured amount of brown sugar and cinnamon + some more chunks of butter. Next time, David has requested more filling. Also kind of threw the cream cheese frosting together willy-nilly. Don’t know how much of anything other than the cream cheese went into it. Nonetheless, delicious. Sadly, the cinnamon rolls died tonight after my glass pan fell out of the fridge and shattered all over the floor :(.

So…if you all haven’t noticed, I’ve been baking a lot of gluten free items lately…I know what I want to do when “I grow up” or finish this internship–I want to one day own my own gluten free bakery and talk to the community about the gf diet and such. So starting in May I will start developing my own recipes. I’m super excited and the thought of doing this should hopefully carry through the rest of my internship!

One last note. I show love through baking and cooking. Dave should know how much I love him given the amount of things I’ve made for him in the past few weeks :).

Leave a comment

Filed under cake, gluten free, tarts/pies

Leave a Reply

