Banana Bread

So I think I’m in a banana rut, but that’s ok because I love bananas and have a ton of black, over-ripe bananas at my hands.  My absolute favorite thing to make with black bananas is banana bread.  Yea I know it’s really typical and doesn’t sound like anything special; but let me tell you, there is nothing more comforting than homemade banana bread.

My favorite recipe is actually the one that I grew up eating.  I never thought it was anything special until I went on a banana bread recipe hunt/bake-off in college and couldn’t find anything quite like the bread I grew up with.

The recipe that my family uses was from a nurse my mom worked with years ago.  It is a recipe that defies traditional mixing methods–for a while, Miles could not get over how I could consistently get a delicious loaf of bread using all of the wrong methods.  The crust is my favorite part–it’s crunchy the first day, but turns into this gooey, mouthwatering portion after being covered overnight.  The whole loaf though is so good that it only lasts 2-3 days in my household.

So without further ado…here’s the recipe that always makes me smile.  Feel free to modify–add nuts, chocolate chips, peanut butter, white chocolate chips, dried fruit, nutella, etc.  I’ve tried all of these variations and they all taste really good 🙂

Evert’s Best Ever Banana Bread

2 ripe, medium bananas, mashed (or 3 if you like it really banana-y…I recommend using 3 and using the absolute blackest bananas you can find)

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups flour

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil

1/4 cup milk

1 tbsp white vinegar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 325 F (or 275 F convection).  Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.  Combine the mashed bananas and eggs in a large bowl.  Toss the rest of the ingredients in and mix well.  Transfer to the pan.  Bake until the bread is golden brown and the top does not jiggle (about 1 hr 20 minutes–BUT this time will vary with different ovens…start checking around 1 hr!)

Photo shoot courtesy of my brother who insisted we shoot it this way….

Stay tuned to find out my favorite way to eat the banana bread (other than eating it straight)…

What’s your favorite way to eat banana bread?  Have any good banana bread recipes?

1 Comment

Filed under bananas, other baked goods

One response to “Banana Bread

  1. Ted Eckelkamp

    Definitely a good one. And definitely go for the three bananas. 2 has good flavor, but 3 really gives it a full banana flavor.

Leave a Reply

