Gluten Free Orgasmic Peanut Butter Cookies

Here’s my latest gluten free creation, inspired by this recipe on a wonderful blog called Cookie Madness.  To be perfectly honest, despite my obsession with peanut butter and sweets, peanut butter cookies are NOT my favorite cookies–in fact, when given the option between peanut butter cookies and any other cookie, I will pick any other cookie.

So why do I hate on peanut butter cookies so much?  In my opinion, most peanut butter cookies that I’ve had are overcooked and crunchy.  I personally like cookies that are undercooked (translation: somewhat raw) and soft.  That and I find peanut butter cookies kind of boring.  At least with butter or sugar cookies, you can decorate them and make them a little more exciting.

After reading the post on Cookie Madness about peanut butter cookies, I thought that I might give it another try, BUT make it gluten free so my brother can enjoy it–and frankly, I’ve been slacking on the gluten free recipe development lately.  So here is my gluten free take on a wonderful recipe…

Gluten Free Orgasmic Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from this recipe on Cookie Madness

Makes about 24 cookies

4 oz unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I’m partial to JIF)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 tbsp molasses

1 tbsp heavy whipping cream

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp almond meal/flour

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp white rice flour

1/2 cup sorghum flour

3 tbsp potato starch

2 tbsp tapioca starch

1/4 tsp xantham gum

1-1.5 cup chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, frozen (makes it easier to chop)

2.5 oz-3 oz finely shaved semisweet chocolate (eyeball it!)

Reese’s Pieces–as many as your heart desires

1) Mix the butter, peanut butter and sugars together until mixed together–do NOT cream them for a while, it’ll cause your cookies to spread out!  Mix in the vanilla, egg, molasses and heavy whipping cream. Beat in the baking powder and baking soda, making sure it’s thoroughly incorporated.

2) Sift together all of your flours and gums and add to the mixture.  Mix until well incorporated.  Stir in the shaved chocolate and chopped peanut butter cups.

3) Place concoction in the fridge to chill overnight.

4) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Prepare some cookie sheets with parchment paper or silpats.  Make golf-ball sized mounds of cookie dough (or whatever size you want!) and decorate with Reese’s Pieces.  Bake for 13 minutes.  Enjoy!

By the way, I could not come up with a name for this so I borrowed a phrase from one of my dearest college friends which he used to describe some of my food…That being said, I can’t promise mind-blowing pleasure from this cookie, BUT it is very tasty….

Leave a comment

Filed under cookies, gluten free

Leave a Reply

