DEEP DISH!!

So what do you do in Chicago when it’s cold and rainy with snow on the ground?  Make deep dish as a very long overdue gift to a certain special someone  ;). (Who I will refer to as DJ OB from here on out…)

Back up…last Valentine’s Day, I promised to make DJ OB a homemade deep dish pizza (his favorite dish in the entire world) and somehow life got in the way between now and then.  So with a free afternoon and his help, we set out to make a delicious dinner…

We used a recipe that I found on Chowhound.  I would have loved to make the recipes listed on the bottom part of the page, but as we did not have 6+ hours to devote to letting the dough rise, I settled for the short rise.
Assembly was easy: roll down out into pan (that has been greased and covered in cornmeal), toss on what seems like an ungodly amount of mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, sausage chunks, pizza sauce, herbs and parmesan cheese.  Bake at 375 for 30ish minutes and broil for 2-3 minutes.

As for a sauce recipe, DJ OB loves tomatoes and I do not, but as true Chicago-style deep dish has tomatoes on top, I had to make it saucy.  I sauteed some garlic in olive oil, added crushed red peppers, fresh basil, salt and pepper and cooked the whole mixture down for 30 minutes.  And let me tell you, DJ OB is VERY Italian and the sauce met his approval ;).

The result was delicious.  After I carefully scraped off the tomatoes chunks and sausage (weird sausage…wasn’t my fav), it was quite delicious.  I would definitely play around with the dough and sauce recipes for next time.  Stay tuned for future installments!  So what did DJ OB think about it?

He llloooooovvvvvveeeeeeedddd it :).

Leave a comment

Filed under pizza

Leave a Reply

